Whiny Babies…

Whiny Congress

Whiny Congress

Oh, wait. I mean the United States Congress.

I am not going to weigh in on Obamacare or tax laws or Social Security or Medicare or any other governmentally funded institution. I am not going to declare who the better candidates would have been, if only they’d been elected. I am not going to write down an in-depth history of the United States.

But what I am going to do is decry Congress as a group of whiny children who never learned how to compromise or get along.

I have nothing against children. In fact, I think Kid President is probably the best American public figure we’ve got right now. But the way Congress has been behaving reminds me of playground antics where reason and responsibility and humanity and the better good are all thrown out the window.

In the last few years I can think of a handful of near government shutdowns, debt ceiling crises, sequesters, etc. All within the last few years.

I really have to ask, what is Congress doing with my tax money? Do they really have the best interest of American citizens in mind when they constantly bicker and fight like little kids who got their feelings hurt?

The answers I come up with are these: Members of Congress care more about their individual pride than they do the American people. Instead of asking, “What can I do to improve the lives of Americans?” they are asking, “How can I maintain my clout?” Instead of doing what is best for the United States, they are doing what is best for them.

The job of Congress is simple:

The Congress shall have Power To lay and collect Taxes, Duties, Imposts and Excises, to pay the Debts and provide for the common Defence and general Welfare of the United States; but all Duties, Imposts and Excises shall be uniform throughout the United States. (Emphasis added)

It’s the general welfare part that gets me. If a business didn’t pay its employees because the board of representatives can’t get along, it would be a problem. Employees might go on strike, seek litigation, find other employment.

The U.S. Government is America’s biggest employer. And now, countless people will have their paychecks withheld or slowed down just because Congress can’t figure out how to set their party affiliation aside and come up with a budget.

In regular employment, people are fired for not doing their job properly. When is the last time Congress did their job properly?

When, in only a short span of months, a government has crisis after crisis after crisis because the people’s representatives constantly fight instead of resolve, that government is failing its people.

The unfortunate and disturbing truth of the matter is the United States is failing its citizens.

I don’t pretend to have all the answers. I just write what I see. But when we live in a country that supposedly prides itself in having a government, “of the people, by the people, for the people,” as Abraham Lincoln suggested we do, we can’t let that same government destroy what we value, what we stand for. We can’t let childhood antics make a mockery of our nation.

We just can’t.

One thought on “Whiny Babies…

Leave a Reply

