Bon Iver, Bon Iver: returned

A few months ago I wrote an album review for the latest Bon Iver album, which is self-titled. Read the article here: http://www.dailyutahchronicle.com/ae/new-bon-iver-album-doesnt-live-up-to-its-acoustic-folk-roots/ Prior to writing the review I had time to listen to it only twice. Maybe two and a half times. I reported that I did not like it as much as the first album, but that it was still a worthwhile album.

I still like the first album better, but after buying the latest and listening to it often, I have a much greater appreciation for it and feel that my original review is slightly dishonest, despite the fact that at the time that was as honest as I could be.

The song “Calgary” is possibly my favorite on this album. Maybe “Perth.”  I don’t know.  It’s hard to choose.

Anyway, I don’t feel inclined to do a whole new review.  I just wanted to make it clear that I really do love this album. It is nothing like the Bon Iver’s first album, which is probably what threw me. But it is exceptional.

 

One thought on “Bon Iver, Bon Iver: returned

  1. Too slow for me. I’m in a fast music phase right now. I’m glad you like it. I find that I have to listen to new music for a considerable amount of time before I fall in love with it.

Leave a Reply

