Let Them Eat Cake

(FYI: I learned in seventh grade from a reliable source that Marie Antoinette never said that.)

Let it be known that I have finally made a successful cake. From scratch.

This cake did not come out of the pan in pieces or chunks. This cake did not crumble to bits while I frosted it.

This cake held together!!

For anyone who is perchance bewildered at my excitement over making a cake, let me fill you in. While typically being blessed with deliciously fantastic baking skills, the ability to make a successful cake has eluded me for quite some time. Thus, today is a feat.

Because I had failed to make a cake before, today I chose to make a very simple and plain recipe: vanilla cake with buttercream frosting. I attempted to follow the logic that I should start easy and work my way into recipes that are more complex. However, just plain vanilla cake with plain buttercream frosting seemed quite dull so I tossed in some mini Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. Not the most extravagant of additions, but bold enough to perhaps entice my family to eat said successful cake. I also put some Reese’s on top.

And here it is…

2 thoughts on “Let Them Eat Cake

Leave a Reply

