A question…

Sometimes I feel like asking questions and receiving responses from various people.  Without giving my opinions on the matter (though, honestly, if you know me much at all I probably don’t even need to voice my thoughts on the subject), I want to know people’s thoughts on censorship.  I don’t know why, really.  It just occurred to me as I sat here wanting to write a new blog post, but not coming up with much to say.  So, what are your thoughts on censorship? In all areas of its existence: literature, movies, art, etc.  I am simply curious.

One thought on “A question…

  1. As it relates to censorship I think it should always ere on the side of the 1st Amendment, “Congress shall make no law … abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press…” I’m not in favor of censorship of the works of anyone based on those basic rights. With that said, I think organizations such as a media outlet, or a Church, or a school etc. have the right to not show works that do not fit into their core values or mission.

    A while back there was a big controversy with a DVD store that would sell you the DVD of a movie and if you requested then edit out objectionable material. I’m kind of torn on that one. On one hand you definitely are censoring the work of the creators of the movie, but on the other hand you did purchase the DVD from those same creators. It seems you should have the right to do whatever you want with work you purchase from those creators as long as its for your personal use and not shown censored in a public setting or in a way that makes the edited version appear as the version the creator made. If I remember correctly, the Supreme court sided with the movie studios and said that it was censorship and an infringement on 1st Amendment rights.

    I do believe in self censorship. Creators should create what they want and feel, but it isn’t a sin for them to stick to their own values as well as perhaps consider what the societal impact would be. Additionally, no one is forcing anyone to take part in works that are against their values.

    1st Amendment rules! 😉

Leave a Reply

