If I were a farmer…

Have you ever contemplated what life would be like if you were a farmer? My grandmother is a farmer in Alaska so I have more perspective than I otherwise would have, but I still don’t really know what it is like.  However, recently I have been contemplating what crops I would grow if I did ever decide to kick the suburbia life and adopt a farm.  There are four main crops I would grow and harvest…

1) Sunflowers.  Sunflowers are just beautiful.  If I had an entire field of sunflowers to wake up to mornings would be bliss.  And, yes, there is a profit to be made from sunflowers.  People buy sunflower seeds, sunflower oil, and the flower as a whole.

2) Dandelions.  Like sunflowers, dandelions are simply delightful and always brighten my day.  Dandelions are used in salads (yep, you’ve probably unwittingly eaten dandelion greens!), in teas, as medicine.  They are so many uses for dandelions!!! Please don’t poison them next time you do your lawn.

3) Heirloom tomatoes.  Heirloom tomatoes are tomatoes that have not been tampered with in any way by genetic alteration.  They look somewhat like pumpkins in shape, though not that big, and come in all kinds of colors: purple, black, red, orange, yellow, green.  They are lovely and taste so good!

4) Apple trees.  My farm would not be complete without a grove of trees and apples are one of my favorite fruits! Besides growing and selling gala apples, I would climb my trees with a book in tow as well as a sandwich topped with dandelion greens and heirloom tomato slices.  And perhaps a sunflower in my hair.

Of course, if I lived in Italy, I would grow olive trees and produce olive oil.

Wow.  I really like my farm.  Part of me really wants to drop out of school and just go create my farm.  Perhaps I will…

Leave a Reply

